Random Ideas \ Thoughts \ err \ posts!

Live life to the fullest!

ID Theft Part 2 September 16, 2008

Filed under: Everything — Jason Olson @ 5:09 pm
Tags: ,

In the San Jose Business Journal today there was an article regarding how Alliance Title will be discarding all of their old documents because it will be too costly for the bankrupt company to retain the files, which would not be financially responsible. However, there is a huge concern on how they are disposed of since these title files contain a complete workup on the identity of the people involved, from social security numbers, names, addresses, prior employers, children, maiden names, property, account numbers, credit reports – a virtual “ID theft in a box” storehouse!

Today, I also discovered what appears some identity theft on a personal level. I just received notice that our IRS tax return for 2007 was rejected because of a SSN mismatch. After spending 45 minutes on hold, I confirmed that the date of birth that the Social Security Administration has on file for me does not match my actual birthday! And to correct it, I’ll need to go down to the local field off with my birth certificate to straighten out the whole issue.

Pretty crazy stuff!

